Faculty Meeting Notes

May 4, 2011

How to use:

Click on any of the headings you wish to read to view the content.


Welcome/Opening Remarks:

Dr. Jaén:

Welcome Dolores San Miguel, newly appointed Coding Educator for the department. Her office will be at the Family Health Center, Research area.

Picture of Dolores San Miguel

Welcome Dr. Francisco Gonzalez-Scarano, School of Medicine Dean and thank you for attending our quarterly faculty meeting.

Congratulations to the following for contributing 5 years of dedicated service with UTHSCSA.

Dr. Yanping Ye

Congratulations to the following for contributing 10 years of dedicated service with UTHSCSA.

Angie Bocanegra

PA Christopher DeLallo

Melissa Galicia

Education Update:

Dr. Kumar:

Medical Student Education–UTHSCSA SOM 2011 Match results for Family Medicine:  13 students. 

Congratulations to Dr. Nadeau and our residency leadership team and faculty for filling all positions in the Match and for matching with Joshua Hollinger, a UTHSCSA student,

FMIG update:  Our Program of Excellence Award (POE) was submitted to the AAFP, and we are awaiting the results of the judging.  Also several students plan to attend the National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students this July in Kansas City.  Our FMIG is also helping Dr. Kumar distribute bicycle helmets to children through the TMA in bicycle rodeos at West Avenue Elementary and our Health Science Center through the UT Police Department,

Anticipated changes in the clerkship for 2011-2012:  Didactics will move from Friday afternoons to Wednesday afternoons beginning with Rotation 1.

Dr. Kumar:

STFM Annual Spring Conference Update:  Our faculty and residents represented our department well in New Orleans by presenting numerous presentations and poster sessions on important topics;

Our chair, Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD, PhD, FAAFP; and William Miller, MD, MA; Marivel Davila, MPH; Benjamin Crabtree, PhD; Paul Nutting, MD, MSPH; Kurt Stange, MD, PhD; Raymond Palmer, PhD; Robert Wood, DrPH; Elizabeth Stewart, PhD; Elizabeth Stewart, PhD were awarded the prestigious 2011 STFM Best Research Paper of the Year Award for their work on the National Demonstration Project and the Patient-Centered Medical Home (see the May 2010 supplement of The Annals of Family Medicine) at the STFM Annual Spring Conference in April; (3)

Recognition for Dr. Loffredo:  Sasha was selected for the STFM Program Committee that plans much of the STFM Annual Spring Conference; and

Recognition of a Departing Faculty Member:  Best wishes to Dr. Cindy Alford as she departs UTHSCSA for New Mexico.

Faculty Development

Dr. Tysinger:

Update your CV at least once a quarter to save time and to produce a comprehensive CV that reflects your expertise, experiences, and accomplishments.  Remember to adequate explain what you do so a reader outside the Medical School can understand how complex your responsibilities are.  For suggestions to enhance your CV see Sandy Burge or Jim Tysinger.

Trends and opportunities for preceptor (volunteer) training:  We are recruiting new preceptors and appreciate your suggesting family physicians in the area who want to teach students.


Dr. Tysinger

Leonard G. Paul Professorship donations during FY2011 to date:  $5,590.  The total amount in the account is $69,582.21, but the total amount must reach the $100,000 to be on the “Professorship” level.  You can help this worthy effort of Dr. Paul, our chair emeritus, by donating by check, credit card, and/or payroll donation.  A new online donation option will be announced soon.  For more information about donating send Jim Tysinger or Melody Porter an email

Mario E. Ramirez Endowed Distinguished Professorship update:  Dr. Parchman, the first of our faculty to hold this impressive chair, is now at AHRQ.  Work is in progress to name another FCM faculty member to this endowed position.

Research Update:

Dr. Ferrer:

No major updates

Dr. Burge:


Recent STARNet meeting planned a card study examining adolescent metabolic syndrome

ASPREE, randomized 48 patients out of our 1,100 recruitment goal – Working with Coordinating Center to increase recruitment.  Dr. Sara Espinoza at the Barshop is the new PI.

The Clinical Informatics Collaborative is moving forward….18 clinics are connected to CINA and we will begin conducting queries in early May to test the functionality of our integrated data repository


Had RRNeT meeting on Friday, May 13, 2011

Trained 7 medical students for summer research on May 23-24, 2011

Launched two studies on May 25, 2011

Submitted CPRIT grant proposal for training in Motivational Interviewing (Oscos, Burge)


Completed data collection for the Dynamics of Violence Study

Submitted grant to NIJ for a mindfulness intervention  to reduce intimate partner violence


FHC/Residency: Dr. Nadeau

We had our Annual Residency Review on 19 May 2011. We have a number of action items from the meeting that we will be working on as performance improvement items over the next year.

New Residency Requirements-The ACGME published new Common Program Requirements that go into effect on 1 July 2011. The biggest changes are in the areas of duty hours, resident supervision and patient handoffs. We have plans in place to fully implement these new requirements.

One of our interns, Dr Edward Hsu, will be leaving the residency on 1 July 2011 to pursue another professional opportunity. Dr Chidinma Nwogu will be joining our second year class.

We have 13 interns in the incoming class. Orientation starts 14 June.

The residency clinic received a $10,000 immunization award from the AAFP Foundation.

Our Sports Medicine Clinics are growing under the leadership of Dr Rudy Navarro.

Construction on the new clinic tower at the UHC-Downtown Campus is progressing on schedule. Projected completion date is December 2012.

Residency Graduation is scheduled for 18 June at 6pm.

FHC/Residency: Dr. Poursani

No major updates.

Geriatrics: Dr. Parker

View slides on Geriatrics' May Update:   View slides

MARC: Dr. Gillard

No major updates.

Westover Hills: Dr. Koretsky

No major updates.

Maternity Services: Dr. Doty

No major updates.

STEER: Dr. Miller

Submitted EPA grant: “Building Capacity to Reduce Children’s Environmental Exposures in Child-Occupied Settings.”  In partnership with Texas A&M School of Rural Public Health.

Planning a J-Term Course (January 2012) in conjunction with Harvard School of Public Health’s Dr. John Spengler.  Harvard MPH students would take STEER in Laredo for 3 weeks and develop research projects.

20 rising MS2 MD/MPH students will be attending STEER in Laredo and Harlingen this summer (May 16th – July 12th). 

Completing Year 2 of CDC grant on organochlorine pesticide exposures in Webb county (Laredo area) colonias,  Includes environmental education for families.

Hispanic-serving Health Professions Schools (HSHPS)/CDC has awarded two trainees to STEER this summer, one for Harlingen and one for Laredo.